Statins

CLICK TO ENLARGE
Photo Remix by Paul Smedberg

Don’t ask me where the title “Statins” came from, I’m just the artist guy. I go back and forth between being joyous and grim about the relationship between a piece of art and it’s title. There is something almost insulting about the idea that you can, and that you must, sully a piece of visual art with a snippet of text. But sometimes it’s so great. Think of Dali’s “Persistence of Memory”. What a great title.

Now that I think about it, I’ve probably subconsciously ripped off (or riffed off) this title with Stadium of Memory.

Anyway, titling a piece is often thinking at right angles to the piece. Sometimes, I have no title, per se, just a name that relates to a series of remixes. In this case, the full name of the piece above is “g2009-03-25c judys”, because I shot the images in my friend Judy Vitalliano’s house, remixed them on March 25th, 2009, this was the third (c-th) file I’d authored that day. So with a “name” rather than a “title” of g2009-03-25c judys, I really need a title.

So I stared at this piece and it whispered, “Statins”. Which I immediately rejected.

Then the piece shouted, “No really, ‘Statins’. Look, Mr. Artist Person, you have to do this for me. This is my title, and if you just open your fuckin eyes for a second you’d see that this is a great title. Just think about it – ‘Statins’.”

OK. No problem. I’ll call you “Statins”.

Even though I take statins, I had to look it up just what they were to remind myself. Wikipaedia:

Statins – They lower cholesterol by inhibiting the enzyme HMG-CoA reductase, which is the rate-limiting enzyme of the mevalonate pathway of cholesterol synthesis. Inhibition of this enzyme in the liver results in decreased cholesterol  synthesis as well as increased synthesis of LDL receptors, resulting in an increased clearance of low-density lipoprotein (LDL) from the bloodstream.

So, what does that have to do with anything? Especially this photo remix?

I do not know.

There might be two independent patterns of brain cells that are firing along — suddenly intersecting in the break room, catching each other’s eyes while simultaneously smiling, just a little bit, before reaching for the lone cheese danish at once.

They laugh and decide to share that cheese danish.

Statins.

~ by bracketbracket on January 12, 2010.

2 Responses to “Statins”

  1. Makes me chuckle, or as they say lol. But what I really like is the tension you create when I am fearful for your safety and wondering about your sanity until the part. Makes me think of how my mind wanders while I drive & I get lost in fantasies. Occasionally, when thinking about accidentally driving off the road over a cliff or through a fence into someone’s front porch, my hands automatically make a slight move to turn the wheel that way. So the fantasy impinges just slightly on my safety. Good thing there was just a cat there, because if you fantasize about challenging a gang and calling them chickens just as you happen to drive by an actual menacing gang, that might be uncomfortable.

Leave a Reply

 
