Scary Encounter

I was cutting through
going over to Fulton St.
to get to my car
at the terminal lot
and I round the corner
and it’s gang time

a dozen or so guys
with shirts and stuff
all smiling and laughing
until I turn that corner

bunch of tough guys
giving me this look
I’m feeling deeply insecure.

But, I’ve got an idea.

“What’s this?”
I shout.
“Some kinda chicken coop.”

“No men here, just a bunch of chickens.”
I kinda sing it,
but accusatory,
challenging.

Then I sing
the Darth Vadar theme,
but like a chicken.

“Bwak bwak bwak
bwak bwa bwak, bwak bwa bwak
bwak bwak bwa bwak
bwak bwa bwak, bwak bwa bwak.”

They don’t smile.
They just stare at me with this volcanic distain.

(Actually it wasn’t so much a gang
as a cat
looking at me singing like a chicken.)

~ by bracketbracket on January 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
